The battle of the Rimmel Foundations

Hey guys. Hope you all had a great week!

Before I get started with this post I have just made a new Instagram account for this blog so I would be so grateful if you could check it out: www.instagram.com/ehbeautyxo

THANK YOU!!

I have always been a huge fan of Rimmel makeup as it is probably one of the first makeup brands I ever tried back when I was in year 9. I would only ever wear basic makeup like mascara and foundation and I certainly remember not having a clue how to put makeup on.

I soon learnt once I started watching tutorials on YouTube and slowly got the hang of it. One of the first foundations I ever tried was the Rimmel Lasting Finish, this foundation still to this day is one of my holy grail items in my makeup collection.

Once I started getting more into makeup, it became apparent that there were a lot of makeup brands to try and I soon dismissed my once loved Rimmel Lasting Finish Foundation and went onto bigger things.

Today I would like to talk about two different foundations in the Rimmel Collection and review all of them based on consistency, ease of application, the coverage the give and the build-ability as well as how well they last and what sort of skin types they are for.

The First Foundation from the Rimmel Collection I am going to talk about is the Match Perfection Foundation. This I have to admit is one of the most recent ones I have tried, after hearing so many good things about it from other blogs, reviews online and from YouTube channels I decided to try it out for myself.

Therefore I will explain all of the good and bad points of this foundation.

  • Consistency: This foundations is thinner and not as full coverage as the Lasting Finish once on the face, however when feeling the consistency of this one I don’t feel much of a difference. The consistency is really nice and feels lightweight on the skin.
  • Ease of application: The foundation applies really nicely and doesn’t sit on any dry patches on my face. I have tried applying this with a kabuki brush, a Beauty Blender dry and wet and a Real Techniques sponge, all of which made the foundation look the same. I personally prefer the Beauty Blender if you are looking for a more full coverage look, however, for everyday use, the kabuki brush route makes the foundation look a little more natural.
  • Coverage and build-ability: As I have mentioned, this foundation is less full coverage than the other, however it is build-able and does cover some blemishing and imperfections. Adding a good concealer will definitely help your base to look more flawless if that is what you are looking for.

Match Perfection nice.jpg

Rimmel Match Perfection Ivory £7.99

The next and last foundation is The Rimmel Lasting Finish. This foundation I have used for a lot longer as it is one of the first I ever tried. I actually re-purchased this foundation for this video and had forgotten how amazing it actually is.

  • Consistency: As I said I cannot tell much of a difference between the consistency when on the hand but this one does appear to be slightly thicker on the skin when applying it, however it does not weigh your face down like some more full coverage foundations do.
  • Ease of application: The foundation applies really nicely and lasts longer than the Match Perfection. This foundation also applies nicely with a brush and a sponge, however, I do prefer Beauty Blenders with this foundation.
  • Coverage and Build-ability: This foundation is medium to full coverage and is build-able. This foundation works lovely with the Collection Lasting Perfection concealer.
lasting-finish
Rimmel Lasting Finish Light Porcelain £7.99

Both of these foundations are SPF 20 which is also a really nice touch especially for the summer time.

Overall, both of these foundations are amazing considering the price of them and the fact that they are only drug store. These foundations prove that you do not need to spend all of your money to get good quality products. These products are so widely available as well so they are definitely worth checking out if you haven’t already.

Boots are doing a buy 1 get 1 half price on Rimmel at the moment so that would be a good time to pick these up!

http://www.boots.com/rimmel/rimmel-face

Yours Truly

EH Beauty

end-logo

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. CinderCatty says:

    I am obsessed with the Rimmel foundations at the moment I also have the Wake Me Up, but I think Lasting finish remains my favourite.

    Like

    1. ebeautyxo says:

      Rimmel just nail it with the foundations! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

