Battle of the liquid lipsticks

Happy Wednesday!

Today I am going to talk about a selection of liquid lipsticks that I have in my collection with lots of different price ranges. Liquid lipsticks have become very popular and a matte lip is what most people look for these days, but without it drying out your lips and with a long wear time.

I am going to start with the least expensive products that I own to the most as there is a good variation of prices, and most likely something for everyone.

SONY DSC
SONY DSC

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creme, shade Ibiza, £5.50

This lipstick is not a traditional liquid lipstick as it does not dry down like the rest of these do. The colour of this is so bright and would be lovely in Spring and summer time or if you are looking for something for fun and vibrant.

The lipstick does smudge and transfer so this is something to bare in mind if you don’t like that sort of product. It is also a little but sheer so does need more than one coat if you really want an intense, bold look. The price is really good and overall the product is really nice to wear.

DSC01998.JPG
NYX Soft Matte Lip Creme

DSC02027.JPG

The applicator is a fairly plain doe foot applicator and is quite small which is good for application.

Revolution Lip kit, Reign, £6.50

This lipstick is my least favourite out of the lipsticks I am going to be talking about. I wanted to try this out because it is so reasonably priced and it was a new launch for Revolution, as well as the fact that its quite rare to see lip kits in drugstores. I think that this product is too thick gloopy and it goes on weird in the centre of the lip and feels kind of sticky after wearing it for a bit. The product does transfer which is a real downside. It takes a fair amount of time to dry as well, which leaves the product time to accentuate all the lines in your lips

The only think I like about this product is the shade of the lipstick and the lip liner that comes with it. The lip liner is a nice shade and it goes on nice and creamy on the lips, so I am going to try out Revolution lip liners in the future.

DSC02023.JPG
Revolution Lip Kit

DSC02029.JPG

This doe foot applicator on this one is skinny and fairly long which is good for defining your cupids bow.

Nyx Liquid Suede, Soft-spoken, £6.50

This lipstick is a really nice one and really fairly priced. The lipstick applies a little bit thin but with another coat the lipstick looks lovely and opaque but doesn’t feel too thick on the lips. The product doesn’t last very long if you eat oily foods, but it does last a fair amount of time otherwise.

This colour is a fairly dark brown nude and I don’t think would be everyone’s cup of tea, however, I do really like the shade and it goes really well with browns and golds on the eye.

DSC02006.JPG
NYX Liquid Suede

DSC02032.JPG

The applicator on this product is more flat and a little more difficult to use without going out of your lip line.

Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kit, Pose, £6.99

This liquid lipstick is really nice and I think its one of my favourite lipsticks in this blog post. The product goes on really nice and evenly. If you have dry lips, it will accentuate the dryness, however, if you scrub and moisturize your lips first, the lipstick looks lovely.

It drys very quickly and doesn’t feel sticky like some liquid lipsticks do. It feels very weightless. I have tried this lipstick while eating food and it does come off but mainly just in the areas you have eaten and is easy to top up and layer without it looking funny.

DSC01999.JPG
Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kit

DSC02033.JPG

This is a fairly generic doe foot applicator and is easy to use.

Bourjois Velvet lipstick, Nude-ist, £8.99

This is one of the oldest lipsticks I own and a goody. The product again, doesn’t go on and dry matte, however the consistency of this product is so lovely and feels hydrating instead of drying out your lips, therefore, this is a good everyday product.

You do need to reapply this throughout the day, but it sits so nice on the lip and feels like a lip balm but not as slippery. I really like the product and if you like lipsticks with a doe foot applicator and don’t want your lips to dry out, then this is the one for you.

SONY DSC
Bourjois Velvet Lip 

DSC02035.JPG

This is a fairly generic doe foot applicator and is easy to use.

Jouer Lip Creme, Melon, £15.00

This lipstick is one of my favourite out of the ones I am talking about. I have seen people review this product before and most of them were positive so I decided to try it out a few months ago. I purchased this product on Cult Beauty which has become very popular and is where I get most of my makeup that isn’t from the drugstore now.

The shade melon is a very nice pinky nude shade and the product applies very nice and evenly. It lasts a fair amount of time but as all of the liquid lipsticks I have tried, once you eat anything oily, it tends to wear off.

DSC02004.JPG
Jouer Liquid Lipstick

DSC02037.JPG

This is quite a short doe foot applicator and helps to achieve a precise application.

kylie Lip Kit, Dolce K, £29.95

Now this personally is not worth the money or the hassle. The kit took about 2 weeks to arrive and then I had to pay a £12 charge at the post office even though it claimed to be free delivery. Then when it arrived I didn’t really like colour, I think its too grey toned than the brown that I usually go for.

The formula itself really dries my lips out and the smell of the product is too overwhelming for me personally. The lip liner is fine and I do use this with other lip combos but I tend to avoid the lipstick as my lips are quite naturally dry.

DSC02001.JPG
Kylie Lip Kit

DSC02040.JPG

This is a fairly generic doe foot applicator and is easy to use.

To conclude this blog, my favourites are:

  • Nyx Liquid Suede
  • Barry M Matte Me Up
  • Jouer Lip Creme

Thank you for reading and let me know what your favourite liquid lipstick is!

Yours truly

EH Beauty XO

end-logo

Instagram: @ehbeautyxo

Twitter: @ehbeautyxo

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

